01_january_2015A letter a day to number 10. No 961

Thursday 01 January 2015.

Dear Mr Cameron,

It’s January 1st 2015, 70 years since the end of WWII. One of the things that occurred after the war was a certain amount of bedroom activity/celebration leading to a baby boom, hardly surprising or even unexpected after such a harrowing event which cost so many lives.

Thanks to the most enlightened government this country has ever seen, three years after the war saw the founding of the NHS. I am unsure of all the motivating factors behind this visionary move, but I’d like to think that it was in part in gratitude to the sacrifices made by the ordinary people of this country who prevented the might of Hitlers Germany from invading these shores.

My mother was a stiff upper lipped, post Victorian woman, a royalist and a deferential voter who voted Tory all her life. Then, as now, such people had little to thank the Tories for, but her dedication to Queen, country, tradition and the nobility was unshakable. I confess I never understood my mother and she never understood me.

The Tories hated and fought against the NHS leading Aneurin Bevan to declare in bitterness and anger, “No amount of cajolery, and no attempts at ethical or social seduction, can eradicate from my heart a deep burning hatred for the Tory Party. So far as I am concerned they are lower than vermin.” Well said that man!

In February 2014 the following was reported by the mirror, “The NHS faces a dramatic funding shortfall due to the ageing population, experts warned today. Spending per patient will have fallen by 9% within four years even if health service cash continues to be protected, said the Institute for Fiscal Studies. That is because two million more over-65s – a 20% rise – will place far more demands on the service.” A now familiar refrain, including from Jeremy Hunt, who had this to say in 2012, “I want to talk today about a great challenge facing our society. A challenge even more serious than the economic crisis, or the debt crisis facing young people.  Potentially even as serious as global warming. I am talking, of course, about our ageing population.”

So called experts and politicians alike failed to consider that the steady marching of the years would lead to the inevitable rise in the aging population we see today. I was one of those post war babies and, call it intuition if you like, even I knew I was going to get old. I did fail to see the economic crisis coming, I’ve had little trust in bankers but I failed to realise that they were as crooked as they turned out to be, but Hunt states that my getting old is a far greater crisis. I put it to you that the man is either an imbecile or a mendacious, lying, privateer who will say anything to hide the fact that he is selling off our NHS by running the publicly owned side into the ground. Why else has George Osborne withheld £30 billion National Insurance money from the NHS in this so called crisis?

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/nhs-crisis-ageing-population-mean-3115920

https://www.gov.uk/government/speeches/14-november-2012-jeremy-hunt-age-uk

http://www.unitetheunion.org/news/71-coalition-mps-who-voted-for-nhs-sell-off-linked-to-health-firms/

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/george-osborne-should-use-30bn-4762414

