13_november_2015A letter a day to number 10. No 1,256

Friday 13 November 2015.

Dear Mr Cameron,

I know that you consider us ordinary folks a lazy, good for nothing, bunch of scroungers but I have to say I’ve never really thought of myself as a something for nothing kind of bloke or on the take, but, hey, everything changes at some point.

I confess I was shocked to read that something I had hitherto taken for granted as a free good, paid for out of taxes, but free at the point of breaching my privacy, I can now look forward to paying for.

I am afraid I am going to have to be quite insistent about this, I am definitely not happy on learning I am likely to become liable for a Snoopers Tax being added to my Internet bill. That just isn’t cricket.

If you want to know what I get up to on the Internet I am afraid that’s your problem, you want it, you pay for it. I don’t even get a choice on having my privacy invaded, but just for the record, I do not consent to having my privacy invaded, but paying for something that I don’t want nor consent to is, I hope you can see, just the most ludicrous scam.

Whilst I think the bedroom tax is one of the best scams you’ve pulled off, a Snoopers Tax carries the additional bonus of taking the mickey out of every Internet user in the UK. Small wonder you want to give everyone a legal right to fast broadband by 2020, it’ll be a snoopers dream come true.

There is a very good reason I do not own a television set, if companies want a platform in my home for their advertising, I don’t expect to have to pay for it, as that’s called being a Mug. I have other reasons, but that is a big one. If you, GCHQ, MI6, MI5 or any other spooks want my Internet data, not only should I be provided with that imposition for free, you, they or any interested party should be paying me for the privilege of so generously giving them access to my data. If you want to call that a sense of entitlement, I stand guilty as charged. ‘No’ to the Snoopers Tax, you spy, you pay!

http://voxpoliticalonline.com/2015/11/11/the-perfect-scam-we-will-pay-higher-broadband-bills-so-the-government-can-spy-on-us/

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/gadgets-and-tech/news/legal-right-fast-broadband-by-2020-universal-service-obligation-rural-internet-a6727156.html

