17_march_2016A letter a day to number 10. No 1,374

Thursday 17 March 2016.

Dear Mr Cameron,

I hope you’ve got the party poppers out. It’s four years since I started these little daily chats. A witness to the depravity of the worst government in UK history.

I love life. Life is the natural expression of nature’s abundance. We are inseparable from nature other than through ignorance and circumstances which drive human alienation, depriving us of our primal connection to nature without which we are rendered incomplete.

Yours is a government that treats ordinary people like chattel, or, as Iain Duncan Smith puts it, ‘stock’, which I very much doubt he restricts merely to those in receipt of social support.

There is no possible excuse for treating people as badly and punitively as you and your government do. You may think of us as rude, crude, commoners, unsophisticated and beneath you. If so that is your failing, not ours. As Max Ehrmann puts it in his ‘Desiderata’, “listen to others, even to the dull and ignorant; they too have their story.”

I know well what it is like to be dull, ignorant and broken, I spent many years of my life absent from myself, lost in the blackest hell hole of depression, living in despair. It was only through the loving kindness of others who listened, giving their time to a broken human being, that I began to emerge and learn how to live with what I called, ‘the enemy within’. I discovered that depression had much to teach me, in fact I would say that everything I know and love today has emerged and been informed by what it was to live in hell, including these letters. It has been and will continue to be a lifelong journey.

What underpins these letters is my profound existential love of life. I observe as science strives to create an artificial intelligence and I am dumbfounded by their mechanistic approach. Have they never observed a child? Every child learns by absorbing life and comes predisposed, equipped by nature, to learn and everything a child learns feeds back and informs the next step. Children learn holistically, they are not ‘things’ to be programmed. But the big question I have for the builders of artificial intelligence is, will it dream? Could an artificial intelligence find inspiration, as the late great Douglas Adams did, in procrastination and ‘six months of baths and peanut butter sandwiches’, or quip, ‘I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by’?

If people do not love life, they have no place in the governance of it and you and your government have provided ample evidence that you are unfit to hold office; a bunch of career politicians ‘talking cross-eyed badger spit’ (to quote Adams again). We are better than this and we shall overcome.

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/the-conservative-government-the-worst-in-living-memory-has-got-a-free-pass-in-power-a6756351.html

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/dr-simon-duffy/general-election-2015_b_7124468.html

http://www.davidpbrown.co.uk/poetry/max-ehrmann.html

http://www.bookslut.com/nonfiction/2004_05_002057.php

