23_march_2016A letter a day to number 10. No 1,380

Wednesday 23 March 2016.

Dear Mr Cameron,

Someone commented on my Facebook page about your party yesterday… “and they are supposed to work for us???” I chuckled. Funny how you can laugh about something that is not remotely funny and which is, in fact, a sick joke: gallows humour.

It’s the same with you and your “modern, compassionate, one-nation government”. The only person I know who could get a real belly busting laugh out of that is Frankie Boyle. From you it is self serving, brain dead, terminal nonsense and as trustworthy as me, at 65, trusting a fart not to follow through.

It got me wondering, when was the last time we could trust a government? It has to be pre 1970 and, as I thought about it, it was probably the government of Clement Attlee at the time of the founding of the NHS after the hideous brutality of war and a time for the nation to rebuild.

That was before my time, having been born in 1951, but I do remember, in my first decade, living in a newly built council (proper) house. I was not politically aware then, so I guess the first sparks of awakening came in the sixties, which is the one decade I look back on as a period of optimism and dramatic social change. Following on from the likes of Elvis Presley and Buddy Holly, the sixties was the decade of the phenomenal explosion of youth and youth culture and music, music, music. And it was an explosion, I was briefly a Mod and then a Hippie, a life changing experience which has never left me.

I recall vividly the saying of Harold Macmillan, “most of our people have never had it so good” (1957) during the post war economic boom, which became colloquially, ‘you’ve never had it so good’. Today, looking back, I wonder if that wasn’t the shot across the bows, the warning of lean times to come. Despite the economic boom and his desire for increased production Macmillan also wanted to suppress wages and spending. From my personal perspective, all else followed, to the ultimate ball buster Thatcher and successive governments who had little or no regard for ordinary people. The optimism around Blair was brief and destroyed by the illegal invasion of Iraq.

Now we have you and your party of pariahs, the ultimate betrayers of ordinary people, behaving like lords of the manor wining and dining on the backs of the rest of us, feeding the rich and starving the poor. A government that has raised two fingers and said ‘fuck you’ to everyone from the destitute, the homeless, disabled people, children and old folks to junior doctors, teachers and nurses, frontline services, legal aid and our NHS, privatising and selling off everything in a national fire sale on an unbelievable and unprecedented scale. You are supposed to work for us maybe, but in reality? Don’t make me laugh.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/8145390/Harold-Macmillans-never-had-it-so-good-speech-followed-the-1950s-boom.html

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/david-camerons-poverty-stricken-britain-6990540

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/kamran-hussain/david-cameron-austerity_b_4310611.html

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/george-osborne-on-course-to-sell-off-more-public-assets-than-any-chancellor-for-more-than-30-years-a6786926.html

http://weownit.org.uk/evidence/nhs

