DanicaRoema

Whilst Britain languishes in the twilight zone of Tory, something just happened in the US State of Virginia, something wonderful.

I woke up this morning in more pain than I have ever experienced before, it wasn’t just one part of me, it was spread across my body and I felt like death warmed up. I stumbled downstairs, grabbed a glass of water, fell into my chair, switched my computer on and took my meds. I opened two emails from Eileen in Little Rock, Arkansas, and began to cry.

I spent an hour trying to absorb what has just happened in Virginia.

Danica Roem, ‘a Democrat who will be one of the nation’s first openly transgender elected officials’, ousted a man who described himself as Virginia’s “chief homophobe”.

Say what? Just pause for a moment to allow that to sink in. Savour it on your tongue. Let it filter into your bones.

I feel like a portal just opened into the 21st century in a world dominated by right wing demagogic rabble rousers and feudal throwbacks.

Talking to MSNBC News Roem said, “You should be celebrated because of who you are, not despite it. In the words of Saint Francis deSales, “Be who you are, and be that well”.”

“You should be celebrated because of who you are.”

I live in the neo-feudal state of England under the boot heels of the neo-fascist Tory party who are driving us into penury, persecution and death and who have not a single decent word to say about any of us and who regard us and treat us as ‘stock’. The Tories who represent everything that is wrong with the world and delight to spread misery and despair by any foul means at their disposal.

I have lamented that in 200,000 years of human development we are being dragged screaming back to a feudal state in which the poor are being hounded to death to feed the rapacious greed of the few.

Who would ever have imagined that one of the infamous southern slave confederate states would become a portal into the 21st century?

I am as amazed and delighted as, I am sure, Trump is horrified, even as, in the UK, May’s government implodes in utter chaos.

Things, as they say, are definitely looking up.

Well done Danica Roem who also said “Be yourself, better than anyone else ever could.”

Quite so.

KOG. 08 November 2017.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/local/virginia-politics/danica-roem-will-be-vas-first-openly-transgender-elected-official-after-unseating-conservative-robert-g-marshall-in-house-race/2017/11/07/d534bdde-c0af-11e7-959c-fe2b598d8c00_story.html?utm_term=.0ad12d2c7919

http://www.msnbc.com/the-last-word/watch/danica-roem-on-historic-victory-inclusion-and-equality-won-1090935875859

